Skip to content
keywordpilot

▸ Trial teardown · Last updated August 2026

Keyword Research Tool Free Trial: Which Keyword Tool Free Trial and SEO Tool Free Trial Are Actually Real

Short answer: SE Ranking gives you 14 days with no credit card, Semrush gives you 7 days and asks for a card, Moz links a trial from exactly one of its three plans, and Ahrefs gives you nothing at all. Those are not equivalent offers with different numbers attached. A trial with no card is an evaluation. A trial with a card is a subscription that starts later. Below is every trial in this category checked against the vendor's own pricing page in August 2026, what each one blocks while it runs, and the fastest honest way to use the days you get.

or try:

Free, no signup. Volumes and difficulty are AI estimates in directional bands, not live Google data.

▸ Charting the terrain · expanding seeds · clustering by intent · plotting the route

Flight plan:

AI estimate · directional bands

Live charting is busy right now, so this is a real pre-charted sample for . Try your own seed again in a minute.

Topic clusters (tap one to focus the route)

▸ Your mini content plan

Want the full plan with tracked volumes, difficulty and rank monitoring on your real site?

Keywordpilot is an independent keyword research tool. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by or a reseller of Ahrefs, Semrush, Moz, SE Ranking, Surfer or Ubersuggest, and those names are their owners' trademarks. Trial terms change without notice; every figure below was read off the vendor's own site in August 2026 and is dated for that reason.

▸ The whole answer in one table

Every keyword research free trial, and what it costs you to start it

The column that decides most of this is not length. It is whether a card is required, because that is what separates a tool you are evaluating from a tool you have already started paying for on a delay.

Tool Free trial Card required Entry price after The catch
SE Ranking 14 days No $129/mo (Core) The longest trial here, and the only one that says "No credit card required" under the button. Core is also the cheapest plan that carries keyword research since the $65 Essential plan was deleted.
Semrush 7 days Yes $139/mo (SEO) One trial per account, then further attempts start a paid month. The free trial button sits on SEO, Starter and Pro+ but not on Advanced, which says Subscribe.
Moz Pro Offered, length not stated on the pricing page Not stated $99/mo (Standard), $49 starter plan The "or Try it free!" link appears under the Medium plan only, not Standard or Large, and moz.com/free-trial returns a 404.
Ubersuggest 7 days Yes $29/mo (Individual) Cheapest entry price in the group, and the lifetime option at $290 is exactly ten months of the monthly plan.
Surfer SEO None stated on the pricing page n/a $49/mo (Discovery, annual) A "Start for Free" button appears without published trial terms next to it. Surfer is a content optimization tool first, so keyword research is not the main event anyway.
Ahrefs None, on any plan n/a $29/mo (Starter) The only tool here with no trial in any form. Starter caps reports at 250 rows and lists export rows per month as None.
Google Keyword Planner Free indefinitely No, but an Ads account is required Free Not a trial and not a catch exactly, but without live ad spend volumes come back as broad ranges, and close variants are grouped together.
Keywordpilot Live demo, no signup No From $39/mo The demo runs a real seed keyword without an account. It returns clusters and a plan rather than a raw keyword list, which is a different deliverable.

Prices are the vendors' published US figures. Several vendor sites geo detect and quote euros, so every number here was cross checked in USD. Full plan by plan breakdowns live on Ahrefs pricing, Semrush pricing, SE Ranking pricing and Moz Pro pricing.

▸ The one that has no trial at all

Ahrefs runs no free trial, so its cheapest evaluation costs $29 and exports nothing

People search for an Ahrefs trial constantly. The 30 day version, the 7 day version, the student version. None of them exist and none of them ever quietly reappear. Ahrefs is the largest tool in this comparison and it is the only one that will not let you look before you pay, which is a deliberate position rather than an oversight: the company has said for years that free trials attract users who churn.

What replaces the trial is the $29 a month Starter plan, and this is where the detail matters. Starter includes Keywords Explorer, which is the module most people want. It also caps every report at 250 rows and lists export rows per month as None. So the cheapest legitimate way to evaluate Ahrefs keyword data is to pay, read 250 rows on screen, and be unable to take a single one of them into a spreadsheet. The next plan up, Lite, is $129 a month, which makes the gap between looking and working roughly $1,200 a year.

$0

What an Ahrefs trial costs

Because there is not one. Ahrefs Webmaster Tools gives you data on sites you verify ownership of, which is useful and is not keyword research on competitors.

250 rows

The Starter report cap

Every report, every time. Enough to sanity check a term, not enough to build a content plan from.

None

Starter export rows per month

Ahrefs publishes this as the literal value. The gate on Keywords Explorer is not the price, it is a row count you meet after paying.

If the module rather than the platform is what you are pricing, the row caps and export blocks are laid out term by term on the Ahrefs Keywords Explorer alternative page, and the content side is covered on the Ahrefs Content Explorer alternative page. Whether the whole platform earns its bill is argued in is Ahrefs worth it.

▸ Keyword research free trial, read carefully

A trial that takes your card is a subscription with a delayed start date

This is the distinction the comparison posts skip, and it is the one that shows up on your statement. SE Ranking prints "No credit card required" under both plan buttons, so at the end of 14 days nothing happens unless you decide it should. Semrush takes the card up front, and its own billing documentation states that the first payment is charged automatically when the trial ends unless you cancel first, and that the trial can be used only once per account. Both are normal industry practice. They are not the same product.

No card, 14 days (SE Ranking)

The default outcome is that you stop using it. You evaluate on the merits, and if you forget the deadline entirely the consequence is losing access, not a charge. That is the right shape for a genuine evaluation and it is rarer than it should be.

Card on file, 7 days (Semrush, Ubersuggest)

The default outcome is that you pay. You now have a deadline in your calendar and roughly five working days to reach a decision on a platform with dozens of modules. Set the reminder for day five, not day seven.

One trial per account, forever

Semrush states that further attempts to take the trial start a paid monthly plan instead. If you burned the trial in 2023 on a different project, it is gone. Plan the week before you click, not after.

A trial you cannot export from

Check the export behavior on day one rather than day seven. A tool you can read but not extract from during the trial is one you cannot properly compare against your existing data, and you will not discover that at a useful moment.

▸ How to use the days

Four steps that turn a 7 day trial into an actual decision

Most trials get wasted the same way. You log in, click through six dashboards, feel impressed, run out of days, and end up choosing on brand recognition. Run it against work you already have instead.

01

Bring ten real terms

Not demo keywords. Ten terms from a page you are actually trying to rank, including the awkward long tail ones. Generic seeds make every tool look competent.

02

Check the volumes against your own data

Pull the same terms from Search Console. Every vendor estimates volume and every vendor is wrong differently. What you want to know is whether this one is wrong in a direction you can work with.

03

Export on day one

Find out immediately whether export works, what format it produces and how many rows you get. If export is capped or blocked, you have learned the most important thing about the plan on day one instead of day seven.

04

Do one full job end to end

Take a single page from research to a finished brief inside the tool. The friction that decides whether you renew shows up in the handoffs between steps, never in the feature list.

Step two is the one people skip and regret. How far vendor estimates drift from reality, and why they all disagree, is worked through in how accurate is keyword search volume, and you can check a batch of terms against our numbers in the search volume checker.

▸ SEO tool free trial, matched to the job

Which trial to start first, depending on what you are actually deciding

You are choosing your first paid SEO tool

Start with SE Ranking. Fourteen days with no card is the only offer in this group that lets you take your time, and Core covers rank tracking, audit and keyword research so you can judge the whole workflow rather than one module.

You already know you want Semrush

Then do not start the trial until you have a week clear. Seven days, one attempt ever, and a platform this wide punishes a distracted evaluation. Block two afternoons before you click.

You want to evaluate Ahrefs data quality

There is no way to do it free. Budget $29 for one month of Starter, accept that you cannot export, and use those 250 row reports purely to compare the index against a tool you already trust.

You need volumes today and have no budget

Google Keyword Planner, with the caveat that ranges instead of numbers is a real handicap when you are sequencing a content plan. Our demo above will run a seed without an account if you want a second opinion.

You are an agency comparing for a client stack

SE Ranking again, because the agency features and the client seat structure are the thing you actually need to test, and 14 days is roughly the shortest honest window for that.

You do not want another dashboard at all

That is worth saying out loud. If what you need is the plan rather than the data, no amount of trial time on a research platform produces it, because assembling the clusters and the running order is the part every one of these tools leaves to you.

If you are still narrowing the field rather than booking trial time, the full field is ranked in best keyword research tools, and the two biggest names are put head to head in Ahrefs vs Semrush.

▸ People also ask

Keyword tool free trial questions

Is there a free trial for keyword research tools?

Some vendors, not all. SE Ranking runs a 14 day trial with no credit card required. Semrush runs 7 days but asks for a card and allows one trial per account. Moz links a trial from a single plan on its pricing page. Ahrefs runs no free trial in any form, on any plan.

Which keyword tool has the longest free trial?

SE Ranking, at 14 days, and it is the only one of the major tools that states "No credit card required" directly under the signup button. That is twice the length of the Semrush trial and it does not put a charge date in your calendar, which matters if you are evaluating on a real project rather than clicking around.

Does Ahrefs have a free trial?

No. Ahrefs offers no free trial on any plan, and it is the only major keyword tool in this comparison with none at all. The closest thing is the $29 a month Starter plan, which caps every report at 250 rows and lists export rows per month as None, so you can look at the data but you cannot take it out.

Do I need a credit card for a keyword tool free trial?

For Semrush, yes. For SE Ranking, no, and the pricing page says so under both plan buttons. This is the single biggest practical difference between the two trials, because a card on file means the trial converts to a paid month automatically unless you cancel before the deadline.

How long is the Semrush free trial?

Seven days. Semrush states "Try Semrush free for seven days. Cancel anytime" and its billing documentation adds that you can use the trial option only once, after which further attempts start a paid monthly plan. On the current pricing page the free trial button appears on the SEO, Starter and Pro+ plans but not on Advanced.

What is the best free keyword research tool with no trial limit?

Google Keyword Planner is free indefinitely with an active Google Ads account, but without live ad spend it reports volume as broad ranges rather than numbers, and it groups close variants together. It is a real tool with a real limit, which is different from a trial that expires.

Can you use a keyword tool free trial for client work?

Technically yes, and it is a bad plan. A 7 or 14 day window is enough to evaluate whether a tool fits your workflow, not enough to build a deliverable you will need to revisit. If the trial ends mid project you lose access to the saved lists and tracked keywords the work was built on.

What happens to your data when a keyword tool trial ends?

Projects, keyword lists and tracked positions stay in the account but stop updating, and you generally cannot export them once the plan lapses. This is why exporting anything you care about before the final day is the one non negotiable step of any trial, and why an export limit during a trial matters more than it looks.

▸ Final approach

No trial to schedule. Run it now.

The demo above takes a seed keyword without an account or a card. Founding pricing from $39/mo before launch.

Try the demo

No card. No spam. One email when your spot opens.