Skip to content
keywordpilot

▸ Verified on ahrefs.com · Last updated September 2026

Ahrefs Free Trial: Does Ahrefs Have a Free Trial, and What the Ahrefs Free Account Actually Gives You

Short answer: Ahrefs has no free trial, on any plan, and has not had one for years. Read off ahrefs.com/pricing in September 2026, every tier from Starter at $29 to Enterprise at $1,499 goes straight to a paid signup with no trial button anywhere on the page. What does exist is Ahrefs Free, a permanent limited account that works only on websites you have verified you own. That single condition is the whole story, because it means the free account cannot look at a competitor and cannot do keyword research for a site you have not built yet.

or try:

Free, no signup. Volumes and difficulty are AI estimates in directional bands, not live Google data.

▸ Charting the terrain · expanding seeds · clustering by intent · plotting the route

Flight plan:

AI estimate · directional bands

Live charting is busy right now, so this is a real pre-charted sample for . Try your own seed again in a minute.

Topic clusters (tap one to focus the route)

▸ Your mini content plan

Want the full plan with tracked volumes, difficulty and rank monitoring on your real site?

Keywordpilot is an independent keyword research tool. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by or a reseller of Ahrefs, Semrush, Moz, SE Ranking or Ubersuggest, and those names are their owners' trademarks. Vendor terms change without notice; every figure on this page was read off the vendor's own site or help center in September 2026 and is dated for that reason.

▸ Every version of the question, answered

Ahrefs free trial, free account and free version, in one table

People arrive at this question in about six different phrasings and they do not all mean the same thing. Here is what each one actually resolves to.

What people search Does it exist? What you actually get
Ahrefs free trial No No trial button appears on any tier of ahrefs.com/pricing. Not on Starter, Lite, Standard, Advanced or Enterprise.
Ahrefs 7 day free trial No A $7 for 7 days paid trial existed years ago and was retired. The affiliate pages still selling it are describing a signup flow that is gone.
Ahrefs 30 day free trial No Never existed in any form. This phrasing appears to be borrowed from other software categories.
Ahrefs free trial without credit card No There is no card-required trial either, so there is nothing for the no-card version to be an alternative to.
Ahrefs free account Yes Ahrefs Free. Permanent, not a countdown. Site Explorer, Site Audit and Web Analytics, but only on domains where you have verified ownership.
Ahrefs free version Yes, partially Same thing as the free account, plus open tools that need no verification: the SEO Toolbar (Domain Rating and URL Rating only), free AI writing tools and a word counter.
Ahrefs demo No live demo There is no self-serve sandbox. Enterprise buyers get a sales call. Everyone else sees the product for the first time after paying.

If you were looking for the price rather than the trial, the full tier breakdown sits on our Ahrefs pricing page, and the plan-by-plan allowance comparison is in Ahrefs Lite vs Standard.

▸ Why the first page of results is wrong

Most pages ranking for "Ahrefs free trial" are selling a trial that does not exist

Search the phrase and the top results promise "unlimited 7-day access", "exclusive 7 days access" and "7 days of full access". Those are affiliate posts. Click through and the link lands on the ordinary Ahrefs pricing page, where the only buttons are paid ones. Nobody is getting seven free days at the end of that click.

The pattern is worth understanding because it repeats across this category. An affiliate is paid per signup, a trial headline converts far better than a price headline, and the vendor has no reason to police a page that sends it customers. The result is a first page of search results that describes a product nobody sells.

The same roundups get the neighboring facts wrong too. Several currently state that Semrush runs a 14 day trial. Semrush's own pricing page says "Try Semrush free for seven days", and it takes a card. Seven, not fourteen. That error matters more than it looks, because a reader who plans a two week evaluation around it loses half the runway on day eight.

We keep a running note of these because they are cheap to check and nobody checks them. The deleted SE Ranking Essential plan is still recommended by page-one roundups, and the $12 a month Ubersuggest price that several listicles quote is not a plan the vendor has ever sold. More of those are documented on our cheapest SEO tools breakdown.

▸ The real free tier

What the Ahrefs free account actually gives you, and where the wall is

Ahrefs Free is the product formerly sold as Ahrefs Webmaster Tools. It is genuinely useful and it is genuinely free forever, which makes it better than a trial in one respect and much worse in another. The limits below come from the Ahrefs help center, read in September 2026.

Free feature Limit Needs ownership verified?
Site Explorer 1,000 backlinks and keywords visible at once Yes
Site Audit 5,000 crawl credits per project per month Yes
Web Analytics 1,000,000 events per project Yes
AI Content Helper 1 document per month Yes
Number of verified websites Not capped Yes
SEO Toolbar Domain Rating and URL Rating only No
Free AI writing tools and word counter 3 free AI features daily on the word counter No

The ownership wall is the whole point

Every column that matters for research sits behind ownership verification. You cannot point Site Explorer at a competitor. You cannot pull keyword data for a domain you are thinking of buying. You cannot size a topic before you have a site to size it on. Ahrefs states plainly that competitor analysis and keyword research need the paid Starter plan or higher.

Which makes it the wrong shape for a purchase decision

A trial exists so you can test the thing you intend to buy. Most people buying Ahrefs are buying Keywords Explorer and competitor research. The free account contains neither. So the free tier, however good it is at auditing your own site, cannot tell you whether the $129 plan is worth it.

▸ The closest thing to a trial

The $29 Starter plan is the real Ahrefs trial, and you should read its caps first

If you need to see Keywords Explorer before committing to $129 a month, the honest route is to buy Starter for one month and cancel. That is what most people end up doing. It is worth knowing exactly what you are getting, because Starter is not a small version of Lite. It is a different shape.

250 rows per report

Every report is capped at 250 rows. On a broad seed keyword that is the first screen and nothing after it, which is the opposite of what bulk research needs.

Export rows per month: None

Ahrefs publishes the Starter export allowance as None. You can read the data on screen. You cannot take it out, so nothing reaches a spreadsheet, a brief or a client.

One month of history, 200 credits

Starter shows one month of historical data against six months on Lite, and it runs on 200 credits a month that you cannot top up. Additional users and extra credits cannot be bought on this tier at any price, and it renews monthly only, so there is no annual rate.

One thing the roundups get backwards here: Starter is widely written up as having no rank tracking and no site audit. It has both. The Ahrefs help center lists Rank Tracker at 50 keywords and Site Audit at 5,000 crawl credits per verified project, plus up to 800 SERPs a month in the SEO Toolbar. The real restriction is not which tools you get, it is how much data you may move: 250 rows per report, 25 rows in the Top pages report, and no export.

One month of Starter costs $29 and answers the question a trial would have answered, as long as you go in knowing you cannot export what you find. If the export is the point, Lite at $129 is the first tier that does it, and the jump between them is covered in how much Ahrefs costs.

▸ If a trial is non negotiable

The keyword tools that do run a real free trial

Checked on each vendor's own pricing page in September 2026. The column that decides this for most buyers is not the length, it is whether a card is required, because a card on file turns a trial into a subscription that starts later.

Tool Trial Card required Price after Worth knowing
Ahrefs None n/a $29 Starter, $129 Lite The only major tool in this group with no trial of any kind. Ahrefs Free is a permanent limited tier, not a trial.
SE Ranking 14 days No $129/mo Core The longest trial here and the only one that states "No credit card required" on the pricing page. The trial is described as fully functional.
Semrush 7 days Yes $139/mo SEO plan Semrush says "Try Semrush free for seven days. Cancel anytime". One trial per account, then further attempts start a paid month.
Ubersuggest 7 days Yes $29/mo Individual Cheapest landing price in the group, but tracked keywords are metered per domain, so a one-site buyer gets 125 keywords rather than the headline total.
Moz Pro Offered, length not stated on the pricing page Not stated $99/mo Standard, $49 entry plan The trial link appears under one plan rather than all three, and moz.com/free-trial returns a 404.

The full teardown of what each of these trials blocks while it runs, and what happens to your saved lists when one ends, is on our keyword research tool free trial comparison. If you have already decided Ahrefs is not it, the swap options are on Ahrefs alternatives.

▸ A practical route

How to evaluate Ahrefs when there is no trial to evaluate it with

1. Verify your own domain on Ahrefs Free first

Costs nothing and takes ten minutes. You get Site Audit and your own organic keywords. This tells you whether the interface suits you and whether the crawler finds anything your current setup missed. It tells you nothing about competitor research, so do not stop here.

2. Decide whether you are buying data or buying export

If you need the numbers on screen to make a decision once a quarter, Starter at $29 covers it. If the output has to reach a spreadsheet, a content brief or a client report, Starter cannot do it at any volume and you are shopping at $129.

3. Run the 14 day no-card trial elsewhere in parallel

SE Ranking costs nothing to start and does not ask for a card. Running it on the same project at the same time gives you a genuine side by side, which is the comparison a single-vendor trial would never have given you.

4. Buy one month, export on day 28, then decide

If you do buy, treat the first month as the trial you were denied. Export everything you care about before the renewal date. Saved lists and tracked keywords stop updating when a plan lapses and generally cannot be exported afterwards.

▸ Where we fit, and where we do not

Keywordpilot runs its demo before you have an account at all

The demo higher up this page is the actual clustering engine running on a real seed keyword. No account, no card, no verification of a domain you own. You type a keyword and you get the topic clusters and the content plan back in about twenty seconds. That is the part of a trial most people actually want, which is seeing the output before deciding anything.

Paid plans start at $39 a month on the founding tiers. The comparison against a $129 to $499 incumbent stack is on the pricing page.

Now the part these pages usually skip. We are not an Ahrefs replacement. We have no backlink index, no site crawler, no rank tracking today and no API. If you are shopping for a backlink profile or a technical audit, none of what we do helps and you should buy Ahrefs or SE Ranking. We do one thing: turn a seed keyword into clustered, prioritized topics you can write against.

We are also in early access, so accounts open in waves. If you need a tool running on a client project this week, the 14 day no-card option in the table above is the faster answer and we would rather say so than waste your afternoon.

▸ Questions buyers actually ask

Ahrefs free trial FAQ

Does Ahrefs have a free trial?

No. Ahrefs runs no free trial on any plan. The pricing page lists Starter at $29, Lite at $129, Standard at $249, Advanced at $449 and Enterprise from $1,499 with an annual commitment, and not one of those buttons starts a trial. The only free access is Ahrefs Free, a permanent limited tier for websites you have verified you own.

Does Ahrefs offer a 7 day free trial?

No. Ahrefs ran a paid $7 for 7 days trial years ago and retired it, and nothing replaced it. The pages currently promising "7 days of full access" or "unlimited 7-day access" are affiliate posts selling a signup that does not exist. Checked against ahrefs.com/pricing in September 2026, there is no trial button on any tier.

Is there an Ahrefs free trial without a credit card?

There is no Ahrefs trial with a card either, so the question does not apply. If a no-card trial is what you need, SE Ranking is the one major keyword tool that runs 14 days and states "No credit card required" on its own pricing page. Semrush runs seven days but takes a card up front, so it converts to a paid month unless you cancel.

Is Ahrefs free?

Partly, and the boundary is ownership. Ahrefs Free gives you Site Explorer, Site Audit and Web Analytics on websites you have verified, plus a handful of open tools like the SEO Toolbar. It does not let you research a competitor or pull keyword data for a site you do not own, which is what most people mean when they ask.

What is the Ahrefs free account limit?

On a verified project you get 1,000 backlinks and keywords visible at once in Site Explorer, 5,000 Site Audit crawl credits per project per month, 1,000,000 Web Analytics events per project and 1 AI Content Helper document a month. The number of verified websites is not capped. The row caps, not the site count, are what you hit first.

What is the cheapest way to try Ahrefs?

The $29 Starter plan, which you cancel after a month. Treat it as a paid trial rather than a small plan, because it caps every report at 250 rows, gives you one month of history, and lists export rows per month as None. Rank Tracker and Site Audit are included, on 50 keywords and 5,000 crawl credits per verified project. You can read the data on screen but you cannot take it out of the tool.

Can I use Ahrefs free to check a competitor?

No. Site Explorer and Site Audit on the free tier only run against domains where you have completed ownership verification, so a competitor domain is out of reach. The free SEO Toolbar will show you Domain Rating and URL Rating on any site, which is a metric rather than the keyword and backlink detail people are usually after.

Which keyword research tool has a real free trial?

SE Ranking, at 14 days with no credit card, is the longest and the least committing. Semrush runs 7 days with a card required and allows one trial per account. Ubersuggest runs 7 days with a card. Ahrefs runs none. If your goal is to evaluate on a live project rather than click around, the no-card window is the one worth having.

Is Ahrefs Webmaster Tools the same as the free trial?

No, and conflating the two is the most common mistake in this search. Ahrefs Webmaster Tools, now folded into Ahrefs Free, is a permanent tier with permanent limits, not a countdown to full access. It never expires and it never opens up. A trial ends and gives you everything until it does; this gives you a slice forever.

There is no trial to sign up for. There is a demo you can run right now.

Type one seed keyword and see the clustered content plan. No account, no card, no domain to verify, about twenty seconds.

Run the free demo