Skip to content
keywordpilot

▸ Field notes · Sep 15, 2026 · 6 min read

Moz Pro Free Trial: What the Moz Free Trial Includes and What It Costs After

or try:

Free, no signup. Volumes and difficulty are AI estimates in directional bands, not live Google data.

▸ Fuel gauge empty

That is the demo limit. A plan opens the instrument panel: your own projects, every run saved and reopenable, exports, and from 40 to 800 keyword plans a month.

Founding rates from $19.50/mo billed yearly, and you can cancel from your account page. See the plans.

See the plans

▸ Charting the terrain · expanding seeds · clustering by intent · plotting the route

Flight plan:

AI estimate · directional bands

Live charting is busy right now, so this is a real pre-charted sample for . Try your own seed again in a minute.

Topic clusters (tap one to focus the route)

▸ Your mini content plan

Want to keep this, run it per project and hand the plan to your writers as a file?

See the plans

Moz Pro runs a free trial, and Moz does not publish how long it lasts. The "Start my free trial" button sits on the Moz Pro product page and a "Try it free" link sits beside the Medium plan on the pricing page, but neither page states a number of days, and the duration only appears once you are inside the signup flow. Checked in September 2026, that is the honest state of it.

Which is why the pages ranking for this search disagree with each other. One tells you 30 days. Another tells you 7. A third offers an "exclusive" partner link that supposedly unlocks a longer window plus a discount. They cannot all be right, and none of them is quoting Moz, because Moz has not said. If you are planning an evaluation around a specific number of days you read on a coupon site, plan it around the calendar instead and check the term on the signup screen before you commit a week of work to it.

What the Moz free trial actually gives you

The trial is full Moz Pro, not a stripped demo, and the tier you pick at signup is the tier you test. That distinction matters more than the length, because the allowances differ sharply between plans and the one you trial sets what you can realistically evaluate.

PlanMonthlyYearlyTracked keywordsSitesUsers
Entry (single site)$49Not publishedNot published11
Standard$99$79300 per month31
Medium$179$1431,500 per month102
Large$299$2393,000 per month253

Every tier includes the AI visibility tooling Moz has pushed hard this year: 50 tracked prompts on Standard, 100 on Medium, 200 on Large, across four models (GPT, Gemini, Google AI Mode and Perplexity). Claude is not among them on any tier. Content briefs scale the same way, 2 then 10 then 50 a month.

What it costs after the trial, which is the part that decides it

Day one after the trial is $99 if you signed up on Standard, and that is the number most people are really deciding about. Paid yearly it drops to $79, a 20 percent saving that is the highest annual discount in this category. For context, Ahrefs Lite is $129 with no annual rate published at all, and Semrush now starts at $139. Moz is the cheapest of the three big suites at the first real working tier, which cuts against its reputation as the premium old-guard option.

The $49 single-site plan is worth knowing about because almost nobody mentions it. Moz describes it as "designed specifically for individuals managing a single website" and publishes no allowances for it anywhere, so you find out what you get after you sign up. If you run one site and 300 tracked keywords sounds like more than you need, ask about that tier before defaulting to Standard.

How the Moz trial compares to the other two

Trials are the one place where the three major suites behave completely differently, and it is worth seeing them side by side before you start an evaluation.

VendorTrialCard requiredPrice after
Moz ProYes, length not publishedNot stated publicly$99 Standard
Semrush7 daysYes$139
AhrefsNone, any tierNot applicable$129 Lite

The Ahrefs row is the one that surprises people. Ahrefs runs no free trial in any form, which has not stopped a whole industry of pages advertising seven days of full access to it. We went through that in detail on the Ahrefs free trial page, including what the limited free account does and does not let you do. The short version: if a page is offering you an Ahrefs trial, it is selling a signup that does not exist.

Semrush is the opposite problem. Its trial is real, documented and short, and it takes a card, so it does not expire, it converts. Day eight is a $139 charge unless you cancelled on day seven.

How to actually use a trial week so it tells you something

Most trials get wasted on clicking around. The failure mode is opening every tool once, being impressed by all of them, and learning nothing about whether this software fits your work. A trial answers one question well: does this tool produce output I would have acted on?

Pick one real project, not a test site. Run the keyword research you would genuinely be doing this month, take the export, and then try to turn it into a publishing decision. That last step is the honest test, because it is where every suite in this category stops. Moz, Ahrefs and Semrush all hand you a scored list and leave the grouping, the intent read and the publishing order to you. If the trial ends with a spreadsheet you have not acted on, buying the paid version will produce more spreadsheets you do not act on.

Second, check the meter, not the feature list. Moz counts tracked keywords per month, where Semrush counts them per day. A monthly meter is a budget you spend down; a daily meter is standing capacity that refills every morning. Two plans can advertise similar numbers and behave nothing alike, and this catches out more agencies than any missing feature does.

Third, if the site you are about to research does not exist yet and you are still settling on the name, do that first. Running keyword research against a domain you might not keep wastes the most useful week you get with any of these tools.

Is Moz Pro worth it after the trial?

For local SEO and for small teams reporting to clients, yes, more often than its reputation suggests. Moz Local is genuinely strong, the interface is the friendliest of the three by a wide margin, and Domain Authority is still the metric clients and guest post sellers actually quote, which has real practical value even though it is a Moz score rather than a Google one.

For link building and deep competitive research, no. Moz's link index is smaller than Ahrefs and its keyword database is the shallowest of the three. If your deliverable is a backlink analysis, the extra $30 a month for Ahrefs Lite buys data you will feel the difference in on the first project. The full three-way breakdown, including what a tracked keyword costs on each platform, is on our Ahrefs vs Moz vs Semrush comparison, and if price is the deciding factor the cheapest SEO tools breakdown ranks the whole category by real monthly cost rather than list price.

Common questions about the Moz trial

Does the Moz free trial require a credit card? Moz does not state this on the pricing page or the product page, and several third-party pages assert confidently in both directions. Check the signup screen before you enter details. Treat any page telling you definitively that no card is needed as unverified, because the vendor has not published it.

Can I trial more than one Moz plan? The tier you select at signup is the tier you trial, so pick the one you would realistically buy rather than the largest one. Trialing Large and then buying Standard means you spent the week evaluating allowances you will not have.

What happens to my data if I do not convert? Campaigns and tracked keywords stop updating when the trial ends. Export anything you want to keep before the last day, particularly the keyword lists, because rebuilding them by hand later costs more time than the subscription would have.

Is there a Moz Pro 30 day trial? Moz has not published a 30 day trial. Pages advertising one are quoting either an old offer or each other. The same applies to the "$39 a month" figure that circulates in a few Moz trial writeups, which is not a price Moz charges on any published tier.

The decision in one line

Start the trial on the tier you would actually buy, spend it on one real project, and judge it on whether the output changed what you published rather than on how many dashboards it has. If the answer is that you got a very good keyword list and still did not know what to write first, the gap is the planning step rather than the data, and that is a much cheaper problem to solve than a $99 a month subscription. Pricing figures here were read off moz.com in September 2026.

Put it into practice

The fastest way to apply this article: run your own niche through the free KeywordPilot demo. One seed keyword, twenty seconds, a clustered mini content plan. No account.

▸ Final approach

Plan your next quarter of content.

Founding rates, locked in for as long as you keep the subscription. Cancel from your account whenever you like.

Free demo, no account. Paid plans from $19.50/mo billed yearly.